top of page

Peeking Into The Ice Cream Stall

An interview with our ice cream uncle!!


If you ask me what is the one thing that has been consistent throughout my years with St. Mary's, it would be the ice cream parlor. While the canteen changes very frequently, the ice cream parlor has remained as one of the significant and memorable parts of our St. Mary's family.



From saving up our pocket money to buy that one cream on Fridays back then when we were a part of the junior school, to giving birthday treats to our friends and dreaming about getting free ice cream treats from Koshi ma’am, have we ever thought about getting to know our ice cream wale uncle better? While there is no one in our school who doesn't know the ice cream uncle, do we actually know him well enough? What is his name, what does he do other than this job, and what about his family?



Not to worry at all, for we bring to you an exclusive interview with our favorite ice cream uncle!!


What is your name and how many years has it been since you started working at St. Marys?

My name is Manish Kumar Yadav and I have been working here for almost four years now.


Where do you live and who all are in your family?

I live with some roommates in Delhi. My parents, wife, and two kids live in a village in Uttar Pradesh. While I don't get to visit them often, I make sure to pay them a visit during holidays and festivals.

My younger child is in 4th grade and the older one is in 6th grade.



Other than your job here, do you work somewhere else as well?

Yes, after school hours are over, I go over to the airport where I have a part time job at the courier services


The ice cream parlor is open only during the first break and at the end of the school day. What do you do during the time it's closed?

I usually sleep during that time. Since I work at the airport during the night, I make up for the lost sleep during the day hours when the shop is closed.


What did you do when the school was closed during the lockdowns?

I had no other option than to leave for my hometown, where I stayed for two years.


Are there any particular incidents that you remember very well from your years of work at the school?

Well, there isn't anything particular to say. But many a times, children do tend to give me fake notes to buy ice creams. I don't say anything since it only happens once in a while *laughs fondly*


Is there any student you remember in particular or someone who has left a deep impact on you?

It's really difficult to remember any names as there are so many types of children who come to buy ice cream. I’ve seen children grow and leave the school, while I don't know the names of any of them, I remember them.


This marks the end of our short interview with our ice cream uncle, who had been very busy catering to the ice cream needs of the young students and sadly, couldn't give us more detailed answers. He gave the entire interview with a smile on his face, remembering the fond memories as he gave us a glimpse of his life.


Have you gotten to know the ice cream uncle better? If not, feel free to talk to this immensely friendly uncle during the breaks :D


56 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page